To provide materials and a wide range of services to meet the various educational, informational, cultural, and recreational needs and interests, with equal access to all citizens of Fayette County.


Our History

In March of 1921, The Progress Club, Inc. of Fayette formed a civic and literary organization. The members envisioned a library to provide the written word for the citizens of Fayette County. One year later, this group of determined women opened the first library in a building owned by Dr. J.A. Branyon with 68 donated books. From the beginning to the present, the objective of the library has been to become a center of reliable information that promotes enlightened citizens. 

Our Policies


Jessica Crowe, Director

Jessica Warren, Assistant Director

Jeff Hodges, Librarian

Nelda Herron, Library Assistant

Board of Trustees

Mrs. Joy Griswold, Chairman of the Board

Dr. Gene Deal, Boardmember

Mr. Rick Hanna, Boardmember

Mrs. Kelli Olive, Boardmember

Ms. Sheneice Nalls, Boardmember

A set of policies approved by the Fayette County Memorial Library's Board of Trustees determines the operation of the Library. 

Those policies can be found asked for at the Fayette County Memorial Library or found here


Our Mission